Researched 17 September 2026. The averages at the top are official statistics from the Korea Consumer Agency’s Chamgagyeok price survey, and the restaurant tables that follow list only places rated 3.9 or higher (a threshold we set for this series). Ratings come from a single source, Diningcode, and some listings have single-digit review counts — so the review count is shown for every entry. Where we could not confirm a figure, we say “unconfirmed” rather than guess. Korean, Japanese and Chinese versions are also published.
We counted the menus at 49 restaurants in Incheon. 33 of them (67%) did not state the unit. But there are two categories where it is 100% — dakgangjeong (sweet-and-spicy fried chicken) and baendaengi (big-eye herring). Both are food that tourists take away.
Eight numbers to memorise first
These are the Incheon regional dining-out averages the Korea Consumer Agency surveys every month. As of July 2026.
| Item | Incheon average |
|---|---|
| Gimbap (1 roll) | ₩3,667 |
| Jajangmyeon (black bean noodles) | ₩7,083 |
| Kimchi stew set meal | ₩8,667 |
| Kalguksu | ₩8,833 |
| Bibimbap | ₩9,167 |
| Naengmyeon (cold noodles) | ₩11,917 |
| Samgyetang | ₩17,000 |
| Samgyeopsal (pork belly), per 200 g | ₩17,685 |
Memorise those eight and you are set. When a price goes past double, that is when you ask.
We also set out the figures from the earlier Seoul and Busan articles. But note what the Korea Consumer Agency itself writes in the original — “because the surveyed outlets and product quality are not identical across provinces and cities, comparing prices between them at the same point in time is not appropriate.” So treat the table below not as a comparison but as each city’s average set down side by side.
| Item | Incheon (2026-07) | Seoul (2026-07) | Busan (2026-06) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gimbap | 3,667 | 3,869 | 3,543 |
| Jajangmyeon | 7,083 | 7,654 | 7,000 |
| Kalguksu | 8,833 | 10,038 | 8,071 |
| Kimchi stew set meal | 8,667 | 8,654 | 8,429 |
| Bibimbap | 9,167 | 11,769 | 9,686 |
| Naengmyeon | 11,917 | 12,692 | 11,857 |
| Samgyetang | 17,000 | 18,192 | 17,286 |
| Samgyeopsal, 200 g | 17,685 | 21,321 | 18,175 |
⚠️ “Incheon has Chinatown, so its jajangmyeon is the most expensive” is no longer true
That piece of received wisdom comes from an article in December 2010. Back then Incheon jajangmyeon was ₩4,000, the highest in the country. That is 16 years ago.
As of July 2026 the Incheon jajangmyeon average is ₩7,083. Being the city where jajangmyeon was born does not make it expensive.
We also confirmed Incheon’s 3-year price trend. Against July 2023, kimchi stew set meal is up 18.2% (₩7,333 → ₩8,667), jajangmyeon up 14.9% (₩6,167 → ₩7,083) and kalguksu up 10.4% (₩8,000 → ₩8,833). The 2023 figures for the other five items could not be confirmed.
The normal price band, category by category
Every table below lists only places rated 3.9 or higher on Diningcode, sorted most expensive to cheapest. Always read the review count alongside.
Jajangmyeon and Chinese restaurants (9 places)
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Jajangmyeon | Jjamppong (짬뽕, spicy seafood noodles) | Tangsuyuk (탕수육, sweet and sour pork) | Unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sinseung Banjeom (신승반점) | Jung-gu | 4.2 | 91 | Yuni-jajangmyeon ₩11,500 | unconfirmed | Chapssal tangsuyuk (small) ₩30,000 | states (small) |
| Yeongyeong (연경) | Jung-gu | 4.1 | 94 | ₩8,000 | Samseon abalone jjamppong ₩13,000 | Chapssal tangsuyuk ₩27,000 | tangsuyuk size not stated |
| Mandabok (만다복) | Jung-gu | 3.9 | 89 | Baengnyeon jajang ₩8,000 | White jjamppong ₩12,000 | ₩24,000 | tangsuyuk size not stated |
| Moon China (문차이나) | Jung-gu | 4.5 | 10 | Pork loin jajangmyeon ₩7,000 | Chadol jjamppong ₩10,000 | ₩20,000 | tangsuyuk size not stated |
| Junghwawon (중화원) | Jung-gu | 4.0 | 5 | ₩7,000 | ₩8,000 | Sirloin tangsuyuk S ₩20,000 / L ₩30,000 | states S/L |
| Hyangraegaek (향래객) | Jung-gu | 3.9 | 7 | Yuni-jajang ₩7,000 | Samseong jjamppong ₩10,000 | ₩26,000 | tangsuyuk size not stated |
| Migwang (미광) | Jung-gu | 3.9 | 11 | ₩6,500 | ₩8,000 | small ₩22,000 / medium ₩27,000 / large ₩30,000 | states small/medium/large |
| Heukryong (흑룡) | Dong-gu | 5.0 | 1 | ₩6,500 | ₩7,500 | medium ₩25,000 / large ₩30,000 | states medium/large |
| Xin (씬) | Jung-gu | 3.9 | 12 | unconfirmed | unconfirmed | unconfirmed | — |
Jajangmyeon — high ₩11,500 (Sinseung Banjeom yuni-jajang) / low ₩6,500 (Heukryong, Migwang) / average ₩7,688 Tangsuyuk (small) — high ₩30,000 / low ₩20,000 / average ₩24,286
⚠️ Chinatown’s most famous places are not in this table. Gonghwachun (공화춘) 3.6 (35 reviews), Pungmi (풍미) 3.5 (8), Cheonggwan (청관) 3.6 (9), Daechang Banjeom (대창반점) 3.5 (6), Doraesun (도래순) 3.8 (7) — the places tourists go to most did not clear the 3.9 rating. This is not a list of Chinatown’s representative restaurants; it is a list of the places that cleared a threshold.
Dakgangjeong (5 places) — unit unstated at 100%
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Large | Medium | Small | Weight (g) | Portions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Channuri Dakgangjeong (찬누리닭강정) | Jung-gu | 4.1 | 24 | ₩26,000 | ₩20,000 | — | none | none |
| Sinpo Yachae Chicken (신포야채치킨) | Jung-gu | 4.4 | 14 | large (bone-in) ₩24,000 | medium (bone-in) ₩17,000 | — | none | none |
| Cheonnyeon Dakgangjeong Sinpo (천년닭강정 신포점) | Jung-gu | 4.7 | 4 | — | ₩21,900 | — | none | some items by the bird — two birds (half and half) ₩34,900, etc. |
| Kim Panjo Dakgangjeong (김판조닭강정) | Bupyeong-gu | 4.3 | 5 | large (4 people) ₩18,000 | medium (3 people) ₩14,000 | small (2 people) ₩10,000 | none | states 2/3/4 people |
| Daewon Dakgangjeong (대원닭강정) | Namdong-gu | 5.0 | 1 | ₩17,000 | — | ₩10,000 | none | none |
Large — high ₩26,000 / low ₩17,000 / average ₩21,250 Medium — high ₩21,900 (Cheonnyeon) / low ₩14,000 (Kim Panjo) / average ₩18,225
⚠️ Not one of the five dakgangjeong places says how many grams a “medium” is
On medium alone, the gap between Kim Panjo at ₩14,000 and Cheonnyeon at ₩21,900 is 1.56×. Whether that gap is quantity or price cannot be settled from the menu.
And the place with the most reviews in this category, Wonjo Sinpo Dakgangjeong (원조신포닭강정, 102 reviews), rated 3.8 and missed the threshold.
Sashimi restaurants (9 places)
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Assorted sashimi (basic / small) | Medium and large | Portions stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mammoth Hoe Center No. 14 (맘모스회센터 14호) | Jung-gu | 4.0 | 2 | Live-fish sashimi, 2 people ₩100,000 | 3 people ₩120,000 / 4 people ₩140,000 / 5 people ₩170,000 | yes |
| Namhae Hoetjip (남해횟집) | Namdong-gu | 4.0 | 1 | Assorted sashimi (small) ₩100,000 | unconfirmed | not stated |
| Baengnyeongdo Hoetjip (백령도횟집) | Namdong-gu | 4.5 | 3 | Assorted sashimi, small ₩90,000 | unconfirmed | not stated |
| Chonnom Hoe (촌놈회) | Yeonsu-gu | 4.4 | 6 | Wild croaker assorted sashimi, 2 people ₩85,000 | 3 people ₩105,000 / 4 people ₩125,000 | yes |
| Jiwonine (지원이네) | Namdong-gu | 4.8 | 6 | Large yellowtail special assorted sashimi, small (2 people) ₩75,000 | medium, 2–3 people ₩105,000 / large, 3–4 people ₩135,000 | yes |
| Jeongdongjin Hoetjip (정동진횟집) | Yeonsu-gu | 4.2 | 2 | Assorted sekkoshi (small) ₩55,000 | medium ₩65,000 / large ₩85,000 | not stated |
| Yeongjongseom (영종섬) | Jung-gu | 4.2 | 7 | Assorted sashimi ₩50,000 | medium ₩60,000 / large ₩70,000 | not stated |
| Soraepogu Haenam Susan (소래포구 해남수산) | Namdong-gu | 5.0 | 1 | Seasonal sashimi set (2 people) ₩45,000 | — | yes (but every crustacean is “variable”) |
| Jingyeongine Susan (진경이네수산) | Namdong-gu | 4.4 | 2 | Assorted sashimi ₩35,000 | unconfirmed | not stated |
Assorted sashimi, smallest size — high ₩100,000 / low ₩35,000 / average ₩70,556
That is 2.86× between the highest and the lowest. At the five places that do not state the portion count, whether the gap is quantity or price cannot be compared at all.
Blue crab and snow crab (7 places)
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Headline price | Unit stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samdae Incheon Gejang (삼대인천게장) | Michuhol-gu | 5.0 | 1 | Soy-marinated crab set meal ₩29,000 / spicy-marinated crab set meal ₩25,000 | not stated |
| Soraehyang (소래향) | Namdong-gu | 5.0 | 1 | Trimmed soy-marinated crab (300 g or more) ₩28,000 / whole marinated crab (1 person, 300 g or more) ₩40,000 / blue crab stew (small, 2 people or more) ₩46,000 | yes — both grams and portions |
| Hwanggeum Gejang (황금게장) | Michuhol-gu | 4.5 | 3 | Female blue crab marinated set meal ₩25,000 / assorted marinated set meal ₩33,000 / (takeaway) 3 female blue crabs ₩60,000 | takeaway yes, dine-in set meals not stated |
| Pungnyeon Miga Gejang Jeongsik Dohwa (풍년미가게장정식 도화점) | Michuhol-gu | 4.5 | 1 | Female blue crab marinated set meal ₩25,000 / male soy-marinated crab set meal ₩13,000 | not stated |
| Crab Boy (크랩보이) | Jung-gu | 4.0 | 1 | King crab, snow crab and lobster 2-person sets all “variable” / assorted seafood ₩40,000 | portions yes, price is market price |
| Samu Susan (삼우수산) | Jung-gu | 5.0 | 1 | Grade-A Russian snow crab (per crab, 800 g–1.2 kg) market price | weight and crab count yes, every price is market price |
| Daege Cheonguk (대게천국) | Namdong-gu | 5.0 | 1 | Assorted live sashimi, assorted seafood, assorted crustaceans — all “variable” | no dish name, no price, no unit |
Marinated crab set meal (the 4 places that print a price) — high ₩29,000 / low ₩25,000 / average ₩26,750
Grilled shellfish (5 places)
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Small / basic | Medium | Large | Portions stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seohaean Jogae Gwangjang (서해안조개광장) | Jung-gu (Yeongjong) | 3.9 | 14 | Assorted shellfish, basic ₩75,000 | — | generous ₩110,000 | not stated (only “basic” and “generous”) |
| Byeolbada Jogae-gui (별바다 조개구이) | Jung-gu (Yeongjong) | 5.0 | 1 | (small) ₩70,000 | (medium) ₩95,000 | (large) ₩120,000 | not stated |
| Yeongjong Jogae Sijang (영종조개시장) | Jung-gu (Yeongjong) | 4.6 | 12 | small (2 people) ₩65,000 | medium (3 people) ₩85,000 | large (4 people) ₩100,000 | yes |
| Yeongjongseom (영종섬) | Jung-gu (Yeongjong) | 4.2 | 7 | (2 people) ₩60,000 | (3 people) ₩70,000 | (4 people) ₩80,000 | yes |
| Dokkaebi Jogae-gui (도깨비조개구이) | Namdong-gu (Sorae) | 4.2 | 4 | All-you-can-eat — price unconfirmed | — | — | — |
Smallest size — high ₩75,000 / low ₩60,000 / average ₩67,500
Samgyeopsal (6 places)
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | 1 portion | Grams stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dwaekkeokjeong Juan (main) (돼꺽정 주안본점) | Michuhol-gu | 5.0 | 2 | Top-grade Hanton samgyeopsal, 200 g ₩17,000 | yes |
| Minari Camping (미나리캠핑) | Seo-gu (Cheongna) | 4.4 | 5 | Minari samgyeopsal ₩17,000 | none |
| Sotgojip (솥고집) | Yeonsu-gu (Songdo) | 4.3 | 3 | Sotgojip grilled samgyeopsal ₩16,900 | none |
| Yukdeoku (육더쿠) | Seo-gu | 4.6 | 9 | Garlic-aged samgyeopsal ₩15,000 | none |
| Jangteo Samgyeopsal (장터삼겹살) | Seo-gu | 5.0 | 1 | ₩9,000 | none |
| Daebakjip Incheon (main) (대박집 인천본점) | Michuhol-gu | 4.5 | 4 | ₩8,000 | none |
1 portion — high ₩17,000 / low ₩8,000 / average ₩13,817
⚠️ You cannot settle the difference between ₩8,000 and ₩17,000
The gap is more than twofold, and only one place states the grams — Dwaekkeokjeong, at 200 g. Whether Daebakjip’s ₩8,000 is cheap or simply a smaller portion cannot be told from the menu.
In Seoul, 4 of 12 samgyeopsal places (33%) did not state the grams. In Incheon it is 5 of 6 (83%).
Naengmyeon (6 places)
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Mul-naengmyeon | Bibim-naengmyeon | Quantity stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haemin Myeonok (해민면옥) | Bupyeong-gu | 4.6 | 25 | Pyongyang mul-naengmyeon ₩13,000 | ₩13,000 | none |
| Sariwon (사리원) | Dong-gu | 3.9 | 6 | ₩13,000 | ₩13,000 | none |
| Gyeongin Myeonok (경인면옥) | Jung-gu | 4.2 | 19 | Pyongyang mul-naengmyeon ₩12,000 | ₩12,000 | extra noodles ₩7,000 |
| Byeolmi Chik-naengmyeon (별미칡냉면) | Bupyeong-gu | 4.3 | 39 | Mul chik-naengmyeon ₩10,000 | ₩10,000 | yes — large serving ₩11,000 |
| Wonjo Halmeoni Naengmyeon (원조할머니냉면, Hwapyeong-dong) | Dong-gu | 4.0 | 15 | ₩9,000 | ₩9,000 | none |
| Ajeossi Naengmyeon (아저씨냉면, Hwapyeong-dong) | Dong-gu | 4.6 | 6 | ₩8,000 | ₩8,000 | extra noodles ₩2,000 |
1 bowl of mul-naengmyeon — high ₩13,000 / low ₩8,000 / average ₩10,833
⚠️ At Hwapyeong-dong, the “washbasin naengmyeon” sells on quantity — and not one place states the bowl size
What the washbasin naengmyeon alley sells is quantity. And yet both Hwapyeong-dong places that cleared the threshold (Ajeossi Naengmyeon ₩8,000, Wonjo Halmeoni Naengmyeon ₩9,000) give neither bowl size nor weight on the menu. For a dish whose selling point is quantity, not stating the quantity is a strange thing to do.
Baendaengi (4 places) — unit unstated at 100%
| Name | District | Rating | Reviews | Hoe-muchim (small / basic) | Medium and large | Set meal | Portions stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheolinejip (철이네집) | Ganghwa-gun | 4.5 | 6 | Muchim, small ₩25,000 | medium ₩38,000 / large ₩50,000 | rice bowl ₩13,000 | muchim not stated |
| Hwanggeum Baendaengi (황금밴댕이) | Ganghwa-gun | 4.0 | 1 | Hoe-muchim, small ₩25,000 | medium ₩38,000 / large ₩50,000 | set meal, 2 people ₩35,000 | set meal yes / muchim not stated |
| Jjeongine (쩡이네) | Ganghwa-gun | 5.0 | 1 | Muchim ₩25,000 | — | set meal (2 people) ₩35,000 | set meal yes / muchim not stated |
| Yennaljip (옛날집) | Ganghwa-gun | 4.6 | 5 | Muchim, sashimi or grilled ₩23,000 | half sashimi + half muchim ₩25,000 | set meal, 2 people ₩35,000 | set meal yes / muchim not stated |
Hoe-muchim (small / basic) — high ₩25,000 / low ₩23,000 / average ₩24,500. The 2-person set meal is ₩35,000 at all three places that have one.
⚠️ On the same menu they write “2 people” next to the set meal and nothing next to the muchim
All four follow the same pattern. Next to the set meal it says 2 people; next to the ₩25,000 “small” muchim there is nothing to say how many people it feeds. All four places on the 2nd floor of Ganghwa Pungmul Market do it the same way.
One thing is worth noting, though — Baendaengi Jumak (밴댕이주막) and Deokhwanne Baendaengi Sikdang (덕환네 밴댕이 식당) could not go in the table for want of a rating, but they write “2 people, ₩25,000” on the muchim as well. It can be done in the same alley.
The unit is the real trap
For each category we fixed on one “unit that category must state” and counted nothing more than whether the menu gave it.
| Category | The unit that matters | Total | Not stated | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dakgangjeong | how many grams large / medium / small are | 5 | 5 | 100% |
| Baendaengi hoe-muchim | how many people small / medium / large feed | 4 | 4 | 100% |
| Samgyeopsal | how many grams 1 portion is | 6 | 5 | 83% |
| Naengmyeon | bowl size, and whether a large serving is distinguished | 6 | 5 | 83% |
| Assorted sashimi | how many people small / medium / large feed | 9 | 5 | 56% |
| Chinese restaurant tangsuyuk | whether small / medium / large sizes are distinguished | 8 | 4 | 50% |
| Grilled shellfish | how many people small / medium / large feed | 4 | 2 | 50% |
| Blue crab and snow crab | number of crabs / kg / g | 7 | 3 | 43% |
| Total | — | 49 | 33 | 67% |
Of the 49 places sampled in Incheon, 33 (67%) did not state the unit.
In Seoul it was 33% for samgyeopsal and 53% for sashimi restaurants; in Busan, 100% for gomjangeo and 54% for snow crab. What is distinctive about Incheon is that dakgangjeong and baendaengi sit side by side at 100%. Both are food that tourists take away. Food you sit down to eat arrives, and you can see how much there is. Takeaway you only find out about once it is in the bag.
What you must always ask
| Category | The one question |
|---|---|
| Dakgangjeong | “How many grams is a medium?” |
| Baendaengi muchim | “How many people is a small?” |
| Samgyeopsal | “How many grams is 1 portion?” |
| Assorted sashimi | “How many people is a small?” |
| Grilled shellfish | “How many people is the basic?” |
| Snow crab and king crab | “How many kg is this crab, and what is the total?” |
| Tangsuyuk | “How many portions is a small?” |
The places that write only “market price”
These are the places whose menus print “market price” (시가) or “variable” instead of a number. Of the 7 blue crab and snow crab places that cleared our threshold, 3 (43%) price their main dishes as market price and nothing else.
| Name | Location | Items priced only as market price |
|---|---|---|
| Daege Cheonguk (대게천국) | Soraepogu, Namdong-gu | the entire menu — assorted live sashimi, assorted seafood, assorted crustaceans |
| Samu Susan (삼우수산) | Yeonan Pier, Jung-gu | the entire menu — Grade-A Russian snow crab (per crab, 800 g–1.2 kg) and the rest |
| Crab Boy (크랩보이) | Yeonan Pier, Jung-gu | every king crab, snow crab and lobster 2-person set. On top of that, a table-setting charge of ₩3,000 per person + a steaming charge of ₩7,000 per kg |
| Soraepogu Haenam Susan (소래포구 해남수산) | Namdong-gu | the sashimi sets carry prices, but every crustacean is variable |
| Yeonan Budu Kkeutjip (연안부두끝집) | Jung-gu | no prices for snow crab or king crab. The only number on the menu is “table setting + steaming + preparation, ₩10,000” |
| King Kong Crab & Seafood Incheon (킹콩크랩&씨푸드 인천점) | Yeonan Pier, Jung-gu | the entire menu — snow crab, king crab, brown king crab, lobster |
| Jamae Sanghoe (자매상회) | Incheon General Fish Market, Jung-gu | some items, including Grade-A Russian red snow crab and blue king crab |
⚠️ “Market price” is not illegal. But it is a structure that makes you order without knowing the total
The staff pick the crab out. The weight of the crab they pick decides the total. On top of that come a steaming charge (per kg) and a table-setting charge (per person). At Crab Boy the steaming charge alone is ₩7,000 per kg.
Ask before they pick it out — how many kg it is, what the price per kg is, what the steaming and table-setting charges are, and so what the total comes to. Do not nod until you have heard all four.
💡 Even inside the same market, some places do it differently
At Yeonan Pier, King Crab & Daege Bangap Fish Market (킹크랩&대게반값 어시장마켓) writes it like this — “Steamed live Russian snow crab (around 2.5 kg, 2–3 crabs, serves 2–3), ₩189,000.” Weight, number of crabs and portions all stated, and the price fixed. (It has no rating, so it could not go in the table above.)
It can be done in the same building.
Soraepogu (Sorae Port) — what happened, and where it stands now
You cannot talk about food in Incheon without Soraepogu. But this article is not going to tell you not to go. It will set down what happened and what changed.
2023 — the row, the apology, and the repeat
In May 2023 a post went up on an online community saying “I bought a live blue crab and when I got home it had turned into a crab with its legs missing.” Complaints about high prices and touting broke out alongside it.
From 12 to 14 June the traders held a 2-night, 3-day training programme and on the last day opened a “customer trust self-purification rally,” bowing to the ground in apology. They promised standard weighing stations, customer comment boxes, an electronic price board in the fish market, and a consumer complaints centre.
And then ten days later, on 24 June, the same kind of post went up again.
The traders’ association explained it this way — “even with a live blue crab, legs often come off in the process of catching it and moving it to the stall.” The association’s chairman at the time said “it is hard to see the inclusion of crabs with legs missing as a sales trick in itself.”
⚠️ Intent has never been established. There has been no judicial or administrative finding that this incident was a deliberate sales trick. We set down both sides as they stand.
The scales and the country-of-origin labelling are a different matter, though. Those are facts settled by administrative penalty. They come immediately below.
2024 — it turned into enforcement, and the numbers came out
Namdong-gu in Incheon went in with a joint inspection across six departments.
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| February–March 2024 | Inspection of some 290 stalls. 9 failed scales — exceeding the permitted tolerance (60 g) against a 5 kg weight, with a discrepancy of up to 80 g |
| 594 administrative actions (576 guidance and administrative actions + 13 improvement orders + 5 notices of fine) | |
| Up to September 2024 | Weekly on-site inspections. 150 administrative penalties in total, 61 rigged scales caught and ordered to be corrected |
| 17 places with no country-of-origin labelling, fined ₩50,000–90,000. False country-of-origin labelling and unsanitary kitchen violations, 1 case each, fined ₩250,000 |
After a video spread showing “2 snow crabs for ₩377,000 and a 4.5 kg king crab for ₩540,000,” the traders’ association went as far as imposing 15-day business suspensions on the 2 businesses involved.
2025 — the approach moved to publishing prices in advance
Ahead of the 25th Soraepogu Festival (September 2025), Namdong-gu ran an advance inspection with 5 teams of 11 people, and the method changed.
- Prices, weights and photographs of the food published in advance on the festival’s official blog and the Korea Tourism Organization website
- Food trucks on fixed pricing at ₩10,000 or less — steamed shrimp, seafood pancake and grilled gizzard shad at ₩10,000 each
- Enforcement against false country-of-origin labelling on seasonal specialities such as tiny shrimp and blue crab, and on Chinese octopus, Japanese red sea bream and the like
- Scale verification to check for weight manipulation
⚠️ We are not going to write that “it is completely fine now.” We did not find, in this research, any reporting that Soraepogu overcharging recurred in 2025 or 2026. But not finding something is not the same as it not existing. We also could not confirm the details of the measures for the 2026 festival.
So, three things to check at Soraepogu
The violation types settled by administrative penalty came to exactly three. The things a visitor should check are exactly the same three.
1. The scale — watch the display while it is being weighed. In 2024, 61 rigged scales were caught. 2. The country-of-origin label — whether it is displayed, and if it is, what it says. 3. The price tag — whether a price is displayed. If there isn’t one, ask before you buy.
⚠️ The Soraepogu fish market fire was in 2017
The fire on 18 March 2017 burned 220 stalls and 20 shops, with damage of about ₩650 million. It reopened in January 2021 with traditional-market certification. If you see a post online saying “the 2024 fire,” the year is wrong.
Not displaying prices is a violation
From 1 September 2026, one offence brings a suspension
The Ministry of Food and Drug Safety amended the Enforcement Rule of the Food Sanitation Act, in force from 1 September 2026.
| Offence | Penalty |
|---|---|
| 1st | 5-day business suspension |
| 2nd | 10-day business suspension |
| 3rd | 20-day business suspension |
| 4th (lodging businesses) | order to close the premises |
Previously a 1st offence brought no more than a corrective order, with 7 days for a 2nd and 15 for a 3rd. It applies to food service businesses such as restaurants, to foreign-visitor urban homestays and hanok stay accommodation, and to general and residential lodging businesses.
It has been in force barely 2 weeks, so no actual case in Incheon has been confirmed yet. The floor-area threshold for businesses subject to the price display obligation could not be confirmed either.
Country-of-origin labelling — Incheon really is catching people
Incheon City inspected 75 seafood retailers, restaurants and discount marts around station districts from 2 to 12 February 2026 and caught 16 of them. A hit rate of about 21%.
The false-labelling cases caught were disclosed in detail — Russian flounder and Norwegian salted mackerel labelled as deep-sea caught, Tunisian cut blue crab labelled as Bahraini, Chinese squid as deep-sea caught, Chinese octopus and webfoot octopus as domestic, and Japanese yellowtail as domestic.
False labelling is a criminal offence (up to 7 years’ imprisonment or a fine of up to ₩100 million); failure to label and improper labelling method carry administrative fines.
💡 Offending businesses are named publicly. The National Fishery Products Quality Management Service publishes country-of-origin labelling violations, and some district offices, such as Incheon’s Seo-gu, post their own lists. The addresses are in Sources at the bottom.
Good Price Shops — look for the plaque
This is how Incheon’s Good Price Shops have grown.
| Date | Number of shops |
|---|---|
| 2023 | 218 |
| 2024 | 368 |
| 2025 | 477 |
| August 2026 | 533 |
The target for 2026 is 590, and 30 designations have also been revoked this year. Designation requires 40 or more out of a possible 50 points — 25 for price plus 25 for hygiene and cleanliness. Franchises are excluded.
The benefit for consumers is a ₩2,000 discount when you pay ₩10,000 or more by card. The card issuers and the period this discount applies to, though, could not be confirmed. You can identify the shops by the certification plaque displayed on the premises.
If you have been ripped off
If the price charged differs from the price displayed, or there is no price list at all, it is reportable.
- 1330, no area code needed — Korea Travel Hotline tourist interpretation (its operating hours and the number of languages could not be confirmed because the official page blocks automated collection)
- 032-120 — Incheon’s Michuhol Call Center
- Gukmin Sinmungo (국민신문고) — online
Keep the receipt and the photographs. A photo of the menu, the payment receipt, and a photo of the food you were actually served. With all three, the case moves much faster.
The limits of this article, stated up front
One. Ratings come from one source only, Diningcode. Naver is blocked, and KakaoMap, Siksin and CatchTable block automated collection, so we were unable to cross-check anything at all. Menu prices are also as registered on Diningcode, so they may differ from what the restaurant charges now.
Two. A lot of the places have very few reviews. Of the 49 places included, 12 have just 1 review and 57% of the total have 5 or fewer. At a place with 1 review and a rating of 5.0, that “5.0” means essentially nothing. That is why the review count is shown for every entry.
Three. This table is skewed towards “places whose ratings have not been pulled down because they have few reviews,” not “places with high ratings.” The places with the most reviews — Wonjo Sinpo Dakgangjeong (102 reviews, 3.8) and Gonghwachun (35 reviews, 3.6) — fell out below the threshold. That is the biggest distortion in this sample.
Four. The geography is lopsided. 8 of the 9 Chinese restaurants are in Jung-gu, 4 of the 5 grilled shellfish places are on Yeongjong Island, and all 4 baendaengi places are on the 2nd floor of Ganghwa Pungmul Market. We could not include a single place in Gyeyang-gu or Ongjin-gun.
Five. We aimed for 10–15 places per category and did not reach it in a single one. The main reason is that about 1 in 3 of the businesses we looked at have no 5-point rating on Diningcode at all. Their menus were perfectly clear, but the threshold could not be applied, so they had to be thrown out.
Six. Some profiles carry only the popular items rather than the full menu. Those we did not count as “not stated” but left as “unconfirmed.” So the 67% above may well be lower than the real figure.
What this article could not confirm
- The price band for jajangmyeon at individual Chinatown restaurants — the Korea Tourism Organization’s official guidance carries no prices.
- Whether Sinpo-dong dakgangjeong prices have risen
- The official 2026 auction price for Incheon blue crab — we could not reach the source data at Suhyup or the Ministry of Oceans and Fisheries. Blue crab prices swing week by week, so checking the fish market’s electronic board or Suhyup on the day is more accurate. (On-site reporting at the end of August 2025 gives “blue crab at Soraepogu, 1 kg about ₩15,000,” but that is 1 year old and the article gives neither the male/female distinction nor the source body, so we have not used it as a current price.)
- Baendaengi market rates, and an official price band for grilled shellfish on Yeongjong Island
- Details of the measures for the 2026 Soraepogu Festival — the reporting outlets block automated collection.
- Enforcement figures for price display violations at Incheon restaurants — neither Incheon City nor the district offices have published figures for restaurants separately. The Soraepogu case is effectively the only Incheon example with numbers in the public domain.
- Cases caught in Incheon under the 1 September 2026 rule — it has only just come into force.
- The conditions attached to the Good Price Shop ₩2,000 discount
- Incheon’s July 2023 averages for the other five items
⚠️ We are not going to say “reports of restaurant overcharging in Incheon are surging”
Tourist complaints from January to July 2026 came to 1,753 nationwide, the highest on record, and by region it is Seoul 665 / Busan 594 / Incheon 176 / Jeju 155. Foreign visitors accounted for 84.3%, and by nationality China was the largest with 680.
But the top categories are general accommodation 500 / shopping 376 / airport and aviation 186 / taxi 182 / hotels 146. Restaurants are not there. And the breakdown by cause for Incheon’s 176 has not been published. We are not going to manufacture a claim without evidence.
In short
Memorise the eight averages. Gimbap ₩3,667 / jajangmyeon ₩7,083 / kimchi stew set meal ₩8,667 / kalguksu ₩8,833 / bibimbap ₩9,167 / naengmyeon ₩11,917 / samgyetang ₩17,000 / samgyeopsal 200 g ₩17,685.
The units that vanish most often in Incheon are dakgangjeong and baendaengi. Both were 100%. And both are food you take away.
With snow crab and king crab, ask for the total before they pick one out. How many kg, what per kg, what the steaming and table-setting charges are. At Yeonan Pier there are places where the steaming charge alone is ₩7,000 per kg.
At Soraepogu, look at three things — the scale, the country-of-origin label and the price tag. Those are exactly the three things that were actually caught in 2024.
From 1 September 2026, no price on display means a 5-day business suspension on the first offence.
Korean, Japanese and Chinese versions are also published. Next come Gwangju and Daejeon. Incheon transport and the Seoul and Busan articles are covered earlier.
Sources
- Fair Trade Commission Consumer 24 — Dining-out price information
- Kyeongin Ilbo — Incheon dining-out price trends (2026-08-31)
- Seoul Shinmun — Soraepogu self-purification rally and the repeat (2023-07-01)
- Seoul Shinmun — Namdong-gu joint inspection at Soraepogu (2024-03-07)
- Incheon Today — Soraepogu scale inspection (2024-03-12)
- Edaily — Cumulative enforcement results at Soraepogu (2024-09-29)
- NGO News — 25th Soraepogu Festival advance inspection and fixed pricing (2025-09-24)
- Seoul Shinmun — Soraepogu fish market fire (2017-03-18)
- Asia Economy — Soraepogu fish market reopening (2021-01-06)
- Money Today — “One strike out” for overcharging comes into force (2026-09-02)
- Weekly Hankook — Blanket country-of-origin inspection in Incheon station districts (2026-02-25)
- National Fishery Products Quality Management Service — Publication of country-of-origin labelling violations
- Seo-gu, Incheon — Publication of country-of-origin labelling violations
- Incheon Metropolitan City — Good Price Shops
- Financial News — Tourist complaint statistics (2026-09-06)
- Korea Tourism Organization — Bukseong-dong original jajangmyeon street
- Restaurant prices, ratings and review counts: individual business profiles on Diningcode
